National Council

Special Interest Groups

South African Society of Psychiatrists (SASOP) Special Interest Groups (SIGs) have been constituted in terms of sub speciality areas dimensional clusters:

  • Biological Cluster (Biological SIG; HIV and Neuropsychiatry SIG; Cellular & Molecular SIG; Pain SIG; Adult ADHD SIG; Substance Use and Addiction SIG)
  • Sub-Speciality Cluster (Child & Adolescent SIG, Forensic Psychiatry SIG, Old Age Psychiatry SIG)
  • Psycho-Social Spiritual/Culture Cluster (Philosophy of Psychiatry SIG; Psychotherapy SIG; Social Psychiatry SIG; Spirituality and Psychiatry SIG)

Special Interest Group Division

Convenor Dr Anusha Lachman, Dr Indhrin Chetty

Biological Cluster & Subcommittees

Chair Prof Soraya Seedat
(1) Biological SIG  
(2) HIV and Neuropsychiatry SIG  
(3) Cellular & Molecular SIG Dr Kobus Roux
(4) Pain SIG Dr Shaquir Salduker
(5) Adult ADHD Dr Renata Schoeman
(6) Substance Use and Addiction SIG Dr Lize Weich

Subspeciality Cluster & Sub Committess

(1) Child and Adolescent Psychiatry SIG Dr Sue Hawkridge
(2) Forensic Psychiatry SIG Dr Mo Nagdee
(3) Old Age Psychiatry SIG Dr Felix Potocnik

Psycho-Social-Cultural Cluster & Sub Committees

Chair Prof Bernard Janse van Rensburg
(1) Philosophy of Psychiatry SIG Prof Werdie van Staden
(2) Psychotherapy SIG  
(3) Social Psychiatry SIG  
(4) Spirituality and Psychiatry SIG Dr Lennart Erikson