Management Structure

SASOP is managed by a board of directors who is supported by an executive advisory committee and national council. 

Board of Directors

President: Dr Sebolelo Seape
President-Elect: Dr Anusha Lachman
Past-President: Prof Bonga Chiliza
Honorary Secretary: Dr Alicia Porter
Honorary Treasurer: Dr Anersha Pillay

Public Sector Convenor: Dr Kagisho Maaroganye
Private Sector Convenor: Dr Kobus Roux

Advisory Commitee

The advisory committee consists of members and each manage a division of the board:

African Psychiatry - Dr Mvuyiso Talatala

Communication & Liason - Dr Anusha Lachman

Early Career & Registrars - Dr Tejil Morar

Education & Training - Prof Soraya Seedat, Prof Bonga Chiliza

Ethics, Peer Review & Disability - Dr Sebo Seape, Dr Indhrin Chetty

Mentorship - Dr Ian Westmore

Publications Division:

 - Convenor: Prof Bonga Chiliza

 - SA Journal of Psychiatry: Prof Jonathan Burns

 - SASOP Website: Dr Neil Yorke

Scientific Meetings & CPD Division:

 - Convenor: Dr Mvuyiso Talatala

 - Committee (Convenors of meetings):

 - Biological Psychiatry: Soraya Seedat

 - Biennial National Congress (2018) Convenor: Dr Frans Brink (Free State Subgroup Chair)

 - Dr Reddys Weekend: Dr Kagisho Maaroganye, National PubSec Convener

 - PsychMg Weekend: Dr Sebolelo Seape (PsychMG Chair)

Special Interest Groups - Dr Anusha Lachman, Dr Indhrin Chetty

Subgroups - Prof Bonginkosi Chiliza

National Council

The national council consists of the regional subgroups chairs and special interest groups convenors.

The regional subgroups each have an executive subgroup management committee, which reflects national SASOP structures:

Subgroup Chair



Public and Private Sector Groups’ representatives. 

The current Subgroups include: 

Eastern Cape Subgroup:

  • Chair: Dr Stoffel Grobelaar


Free State Subgroup:

  • Chair: Dr Ntswaki Setlaba


KwaZulu-Natal Subgroup:

  • Chair:  Prof Bonga Chiliza


Limpopo Subgroup: Dr Rose Leputu


Northern Gauteng Subgroup: Dr Eugene Allers


Southern Gauteng Subgroup: Dr Pevashnee Naicker


Western Cape Subgroup: Dr Laila Asmal


Special Interest Groups

South African Society of Psychiatrists (SASOP) Special Interest Groups (SIGs) have been constituted in terms of sub speciality areas dimensional clusters:

  • Biological Cluster (Biological SIG; HIV and Neuropsychiatry SIG; Cellular & Molecular SIG; Pain SIG; Adult ADHD SIG; Substance Use and Addiction SIG)

  • Sub-Speciality Cluster (Child & Adolescent SIG, Forensic Psychiatry SIG, Old Age Psychiatry SIG)

  • Psycho-Social Spiritual/Culture Cluster (Philosophy of Psychiatry SIG; Psychotherapy SIG; Social Psychiatry SIG; Spirituality and Psychiatry SIG)


Special Interest Groups Division:

Convenor: Dr Anusha Lachman, Dr Indhrin Chetty​

Biological Cluster & Sub committees

Chair: Prof Soraya Seedat

(1) Biological SIG 

(2) Cellular & Molecular SIG: Dr Kobus Roux

(3) Adult ADHD: Dr Renata Schoeman

(4) Substance Use and Addiction SIG: Dr Lize Weich

Subspeciality cluster & Sub committees

(1) Child and Adolescent Psychiatry SIG: Dr Fiona Schulte

(2) Forensic Psychiatry SIG:  Dr Indhrin Chetty

(3) Old Age Psychiatry SIG: Prof Dana Niehaus

(4) Women's Mental Health SIG: Dr Bavi Vythillingum​