top of page

Public Sector

There are two main vocational groups within the South African Society of Psychiatrists. The first group is for psychiatrists working in the public sector (SASOP PUBSEC). The SASOP PUBSEC operates as a regionally focused group of public sector psychiatrists. This group leans on the principles of an accountable representative, supported by a trade union-like structure. This structure is affiliated to the South African Medical Association (SAMA) Trade Union’s structures.

The private sector has a separate structured group, which operates as a registered company trading as PsychMG.

Public Sector Executive Committee

Chairman: Dr Thuli Mdaka
Prof Bonga Chiliza
Dr Gerhard Grobler
Dr Anusha Lachman
Dr Kagisho Maaroganye
Dr Kate Mawson
Dr Pete Milligan
Prof Suvira Ramlall
Dr Thupana Seshoka

bottom of page